Nominations invited for 2015 Council of Federation Literacy Award

Nominations invited for 2015 Council of Federation Literacy Award

by ahnationtalk on May 20, 2015591 Views

May 19, 2015

WHITEHORSE—The Council of the Federation is now inviting nominations for its 2015 Literacy Awards to recognize leaders in literacy across the country.

“Many Yukoners are taking leadership roles in promoting literacy in our schools and communities,” Premier Darrell Pasloski said. “This award is a way to recognize the tremendous work these people are doing to provide opportunities, improve lives and strengthen communities.”

The award recognizes outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in literacy. Each year, 13 awards are presented – one in each province and territory – to recognize the achievements of educators, volunteers, learners, community organizations and businesses working in the literacy field.

Last year’s Yukon recipient was Tina Jules, a leader in adult and First Nations literacy and a member of the Dakhl’awèdí (Eagle) Clan from Teslin.

“Each year it is a great privilege to recognize people leading literacy efforts in their communities,” Minister of Education Doug Graham said. “I encourage all Yukoners to consider joining us in celebrating their contributions by submitting a nomination.”

The Council of the Federation was established in 2003 to enable Canada’s 13 premiers to work collaboratively to strengthen the Canadian federation. In 2016 Yukon will be the first territory to chair the council and the first to host the annual Summer Conference of Canada’s Premiers.

The deadline for literacy award nominations is June 12.

For nomination information:
Council of the Federation Literacy Award



Elaine Schiman
Cabinet Communications
[email protected]

Ronuk Modha
Communications, Education
[email protected]


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More