Intergovernmental Meeting between Tłı̨chǫ Government and Government of the Northwest Territories

by ahnationtalk on May 20, 202438 Views

Behchokǫ̀, NT (May 16, 2024) – Tłı̨chǫ Government Grand Chief Jackson Lafferty, Chief Clifford Daniels, Chief Doreen Arrowmaker, Chief Adeline Football, and Chief Alfonz Nitsiza met with Premier R.J. Simpson, Minister Caroline Wawzonek, Minister Vince McKay, Minister Caitlin Cleveland, Minister Lucy Kuptana (virtually), Minister Lesa Semmler, and Minister Jay Macdonald on Friday, May 16, 2024, in Behchokǫ̀. Monfwi MLA Jane WeyallonArmstrong was also in attendance.

This was the first official government-to-government meeting since the election of the new Executive Council of the Government of the Northwest Territories. There was an emphasis on unity, working together and the shared responsibility of honouring the Tłı̨chǫ Agreement.

Key issues discussed included:

  • The need to work together to address mental health and addictions recovery, including the importance of an Indigenous perspective around treatment; and the required addictions supports such as aftercare and a need for a focus on youth;
  • Areas of common interest in infrastructure, including the Gamètı̀and Wekweètì  Corridors and electricity generation, including advancing an MOU on the Nàı̨lı̨ı̨ Hydro project;
  • Collaboration on the expected 2025 renewal of the Intergovernmental Services Agreement (ISA) and Tłı̨chǫ exercise of jurisdiction for education and early childhood development; and
  • Ongoing caribou co-management in Wek’èezhı̀ı.

Leaders also discussed the 2023 wildfire season, including the evacuation of Behchokǫ̀, and impacts on Tłı̨chǫ citizens of the evacuation of Yellowknife. They agreed to new approaches to communication and collaboration in this area.

Quick Facts

  • The Intergovernmental Memorandum of Understanding recognizes the importance of the government-to-government relationship between the Tłı̨chǫ Government and the Government of the Northwest Territories.
  • The agreement commits both governments to meet at least twice per year.
  • The Working Together: Tłı̨chǫ Government/GNWT Intergovernmental Memorandum of Understanding was signed in June 2012 and was renewed twice to date, and the renewal is currently under negotiations.

For more information, contact:

Adetoyeke Adedipe
Senior Communications Officer
Government of the Northwest Territories

Tłı̨chǫ Government
Communication & Media Relations


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More