Dene Nation Assembly and Election Notice

    You can use your smart phone to browse stories in the comfort of your hand. Simply browse this site on your smart phone.

    Using an RSS Reader you can access most recent stories and other feeds posted on this network.

    SNetwork Recent Stories

Dene Nation Assembly and Election Notice

HDownload Audio

by ahnationtalk on July 19, 202171 Views


Election of the Dene National Chief/AFN Regional Chief NWT will take place at the Dene National Assembly to be held in Fort Simpson, NWT. Voting will take place at the Assembly site on Wednesday, September 15th, 2021.


Alan Cash of Yellowknife is the Returning Officer for this election.


Eligibility to Run for Election

Any descendant of the Dene, who is a resident of the Northwest Territories, and whose name is on the registry of descendants of the Dene, may seek election as Dene National Chief/Assembly of First Nations Regional Chief NWT. Nomination forms are available at local band offices and the Dene Nation office.

Nomination Period July 21st, 2021
Nominations Open 9:00 am
Nominations Close August 11th, 2021 5:00 pm (nominations must be received by the
Returning Officer by 5:00 pm)

Nominations Procedure

  • Nominations must be made on the approved nomination form. Nomination forms are available from band offices or the Dene Nation office.
  • A candidate must be nominated by at least five (5) active members of Dene Nation, Denendeh.
  • Two (2) of the nominators must be current Chiefs of Dene Nation, Denendeh.
  • Nominators must sign or make their mark on the official nomination form.
  • Nomination papers must include a current address and telephone number for the candidate and all nominators.
  • Candidates are required to provide a headshot photograph for printing on the election ballot.


Alan Cash, Returning Officer by:

Email: [email protected],            Fax: (867) 920-2254


Please direct any questions regarding the election to Alan Cash at the email or fax noted above, or by telephone at (867) 445-5006.

Distributed to: Dene Nation; Grand Chiefs, Denendeh; Chiefs of Denendeh; Band Councils.


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More