2024 Council of the Federation Literacy Award nominations now open

by ahnationtalk on April 24, 202426 Views

The nomination period is now open for the 2024 Council of the Federation Literacy Award.

The Government of Yukon upholds the important role of literacy across the territory to help shape vibrant communities. Premier Ranj Pillai encourages Yukoners to nominate someone from their community who demonstrates outstanding achievement, innovative practice and excellence in adult literacy.

Awards are presented annually in each province and territory to celebrate the work of educators, volunteers, learners, community organizations and businesses in literacy. This year marks the 20th anniversary of the award, with the first award given out by the Yukon in 2005 to George Green.

Last year, the 2023 Council of the Federation Literacy award recipient was Susan McCallum for her work in helping keep Yukon First Nations languages strong and thriving.

Visit Yukon.ca/nominate-literacy-award for more information and to download the nomination package. The deadline to submit nominations is June 4, 2024.

Literacy plays a vital role in building a vibrant society. I encourage all Yukoners to take this opportunity to nominate individuals and organizations that promote literacy skills or have shown remarkable growth in literacy in your community. Let’s come together to acknowledge and celebrate those dedicated to strengthening literacy across the Yukon.

Premier and Minister of Economic Development Ranj Pillai

Quick facts

  • The Council of the Federation was established in 2003 to enable Canada’s 13 premiers to work collaboratively to strengthen the Canadian federation.
  • Yukon recipients have been recognized in the past for contributions to literacy in Yukon First Nation languages and French languages, for leadership in literacy organizations and for those learners who have strengthened their literacy as adults.
  • This is the 19th year of the award in the Yukon. 2005 was the first year that the Council of the Federation Literacy Award was presented in the Yukon.
  • Award recipients receive a Council of the Federation Literacy Award medallion, a gift and a certificate signed by the Premier at an awards ceremony that takes place around International Literacy Day, September 8.
  • International Literacy Day was declared by UNESCO on October 26, 1966 at the 14th session of UNESCO’s General Conference. It was celebrated for the first time in 1967.

Media contact

Laura Seeley
Cabinet Communications

Saskrita Shrestha
Economic Development


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More