RCMP -V Division Announces Leadership Change

by ahnationtalk on January 22, 2019115 Views

January 22, 2019

On January 21, 2019, Chief Superintendent Amanda Jones officially took over as the Commanding Officer of V-Division, Nunavut Territory. C/Supt. Jones comes to Nunavut after a 2 year appointment in Northwest Territories where she was the Officer in Charge of Criminal Operations (G Division).

C/Supt. Jones is the 8th Commanding Officer of V Division since its creation in 1999 and the Territory’s first female Commanding Officer.

As the head of V Division, C/Supt. Jones is responsible for leading the RCMP in Nunavut –including its 25 detachments and 185 employees.

C/Supt. Jones was born in Montreal, Quebec, raised in Halifax, Nova Scotia and joined the RCMP in 1992 where she has served in British Columbia and Northwest Territories. In 2001 C/Supt. Jones served on a 9 month United Nations Mission in Kosovo.

C/Supt Jones has a Bachelor of Arts Degree from Dalhousie University in Halifax, Nova Scotia and has been awarded the Canadian Peacekeeping Service Medal, the United Nations Mission in Kosovo medal, The Queens Golden Jubilee medal, The Queens Diamond Jubilee medal, the RCMP Long Service medal and the Canadian Forces Decoration.

C/Supt. Jones takes over command from C/Supt. Michael Jeffrey who served as Commanding Officer from to Nov 14, 2014 to Jan 2, 2019. On May 1, 2019 a formal Change of Command Ceremony will take place to mark this event.


Contact information

RCMP “V” Division Media Liaison
Iqaluit, Nunavut
Media Cell: (867) 222-3977
Email: VDIV_MEDIA.VDIV_IQ_Det.VDiv@rcmp-grc.gc.ca


Send To Friend Email Print Story

Comments are closed.

NationTalk Partners & Sponsors Learn More